Loading Events

« All Events

Adopt A School for the Holidays

As I am certain you are aware, the way we teach our children has changed dramatically since
March 13, 2020 when the Governor mandated our schools close as a result of the COVID-19
pandemic. Our teachers and staff members have been forced to change how we deliver
instruction that now includes both in-person and computer classrooms – all while donning face
coverings and uber-vigilant cleaning and disinfecting – while still delivering a quality instruction
to all within our care. I am also appreciative that you, as a business owner/manager, have had to
make dramatic changes to how you do business as well.

I know that this new COVID-19 world has been stressful on you and your employees. So, you
can just imagine how stressful it is on our teachers and support staff. Of course, our staff are
troopers and they soldier on every day, but for many it seems like their efforts are not
appreciated. You and I both know that is not true, and it is always nice to be reminded of just
how appreciated you are by people outside of the school.

We have had several businesses reach out and ask what they can do to show our “frontline educators” their appreciation. Several of them have “adopted” a school and have expressed their support by periodically sending them notes of encouragement along with snacks and goodies. Some have provided items to raffle off to a deserving staff member, while others have provided a surprise lunch or ice cream social.

I hope that you will consider “adopting a school” and showing its staff that your business and our
community supports them. If you are outside of Franklin County and would prefer to adopt a
school from a different school division, I am sure they would welcome it.
I have attached a list of our schools and contacts along with the numbers of staff members.
Thank you for your continued support of our schools, our children, and our staff.
Sincerely,
W. Mark Church, Ph.D.
Division Superintendent
Franklin County Public Schools You can help!
Boones Mill Elementary
265 Taylors Road
Boones Mill, VA 24065
540-334-4000
Principal: Amy Shaver
amy.shaver@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 46
Burnt Chimney Elementary
80 Burnt Chimney Road
Wirtz, VA 24184
540-721-2936
Principal: Allison Garland
allison.garland@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 53
Callaway Elementary
8451 Callaway Road
Callaway, VA 24067
540-483-0364
Principal: Pam Brown
pam.brown@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 40
Dudley Elementary
7250 Brooks Mill Road
Wirtz, VA 24184
540-721-2621
Principal: Dana Kelley
dana.kelley@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 42
Ferrum Elementary
660 Ferrum Road
Ferrum, VA 24088
540-365-7194
Principal: Jennifer Talley
jennifer.talley@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 39
Glade Hill Elementary
8081 Old Franklin Turnpike
Glade Hill, VA 24092
540-576-3010
Principal: Kim Poindexter
kim.poindexter@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 41
Henry Elementary
200 Henry Road
Henry, VA 24102
540-483-5676
Principal: Robin Whitmer
robin.whitmer@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 35
Lee M. Waid Elementary
540 East Court Street
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-5736
Principal: Anitra Holland
anitra.holland@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 70
Rocky Mount Elementary
555 School Board Road
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-5040
Principal: Dr. Lisa Newell
lisa.newell@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 80
Snow Creek Elementary
5393 Snow Creek Road
Penhook, VA 24137
540-483-5599
Principal: Ken Grindstaff
ken.grindstaff@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 40
Sontag Elementary
3101 Sontag Road
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-5667
Principal: Gail Brendle
gail.brendle@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 54
Windy Gap Elementary
465 Truman Hill Road
Hardy, VA 24101
540-719-2809
Principal: Matt Brain
matt.brain@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 44
Benjamin Franklin Middle School
225 Middle School Road
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-5105
Principal: Dr. Jami Clements
jami.clements@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 174
The Gereau Center
150 Technology Drive
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-5446
Administrator: Leanne Worley
leanne.worley@frco.k12.va.us
Staff: 44
Franklin County High School
700 Tanyard Road
Rocky Mount, VA 24151
540-483-0221
Principal: Jon Crutchfield
jon.crutchfield@frco.k12.va.us

Details

Start:
November 17 @ 8:00 AM
End:
December 14 @ 5:00 PM
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

Venue

Franklin County Schools
700 Tanyard Road, Rocky Mount, VA 24151 United States
Phone:
540-483-0221
Website:
https://www.frco.k12.va.us/

Organizer

Franklin County Schools
Website:
https://www.frco.k12.va.us/